PROCEEDINGS

A meeting of the Lancaster City Council was held in the Ashton Hall, Lancaster, at 12.00 p.m. on Friday, 13 May 2016, when the following Members were present:-

Jon Barry (Mayor) Caroline Jackson (Deputy Mayor)

June Ashworth Sam Armstrong Stuart Bateson Lucy Atkinson Alan Biddulph Eileen Blamire **Dave Brookes** Carla Brayshaw Tracy Brown Abbott Bryning Susie Charles Darren Clifford Sheila Denwood Claire Cozler Charlie Edwards Rob Devey Nigel Goodrich Mel Guilding

Janet Hall Tim Hamilton-Cox

Janice Hanson Colin Hartley

Helen Helme Brendan Hughes

Joan Jackson Andrew Kay

Ronnie Kershaw James Leyshon

Karen Leytham Roger Mace

Matt Mann Terrie Metcalfe

Abi Mills Rebecca Novell

Jane Parkinson Margaret Pattison

Robert Redfern Sylvia Rogerson

Ron Sands Roger Sherlock

David Smith Susan Sykes

Malcolm Thomas Andrew Warriner

David Whitaker Anne Whitehead

Nicholas Wilkinson Paul Woodruff

COUNCIL 13TH MAY 2016

184 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Andrew Gardiner, Geoff Knight, Elizabeth Scott, Peter Williamson, Phillippa Williamson and Peter Yates.

185 VOTE OF THANKS

A vote of thanks to the retiring Mayor was moved by Councillor Sands and seconded by Councillor Ashworth.

On being put to the vote, the proposition was clearly carried.

The retiring Mayor responded.

Resolved:

(1) That the thanks of the City Council be conveyed to the retiring Mayor, Councillor Jon Barry for the service rendered to the City during 2015/16 and for presiding over the deliberations of the City Council during that period.

186 ELECTION OF MAYOR

It was moved by Councillor Roger Sherlock and seconded by Councillor June Ashworth that Councillor Robert Redfern be elected Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year.

On being put to the vote, the Mayor declared the proposition clearly carried.

Resolved:

That Councillor Robert Redfern be elected Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Redfern thereupon made and subscribed a Declaration of Acceptance of Office as required by Section 83 (3) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended, before the Chief Executive as the proper officer of the Council.

The Chair was then vacated by Councillor Barry and taken by the Mayor.

On taking the Chair, the Mayor expressed his thanks to the meeting and presented the retiring Mayor with the plaque.

187 ELECTION OF DEPUTY MAYOR

Upon the invitation of the Mayor, Councillor Denwood proposed:

"That Councillor Carla Brayshaw be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year."

The proposition was seconded by Councillor Edwards.

On being put to the vote, the Mayor declared the proposition clearly carried.

COUNCIL 13TH MAY 2016

Resolved:

(1) That Councillor Carla Brayshaw be elected Deputy Mayor of the City of Lancaster for the ensuing municipal year.

Councillor Carla Brayshaw thereupon made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office as required by Section 83 (3) of the Local Government Act 1972 as amended, before the Chief Executive as the proper officer of the Council.

188 ANNOUNCEMENTS

The Mayor welcomed Councillor John Reynolds, elected to represent Carnforth and Millhead Ward and Oscar Thynne, elected to represent John O'Gaunt Ward at the recent by-elections on 5th May 2016.

The Mayor announced arrangements for Mayor's Sunday on 15 May 2016. A service would be held at the Priory Church, Lancaster starting at 3pm, which all would be welcome to attend.

The Mayor then thanked all the children and young people from local schools for attending to watch the meeting.

| | | |
|--|------|-------|
| | | Mayor |

(The meeting finished at 12.35 p.m.)

Any queries regarding these Minutes, please contact Liz Bateson, Democratic Services - telephone (01524) 582047 or email ebateson@lancaster.gov.uk